Title-Holding vs. Non-Title-Holding States

  • 1 min read

What happens to your car title when it’s financed? Well, this entirely depends on whether or not you live in a title-holding state or a non-title-holding state.

What is a title-holding state vs. a non-title-holding state?

Title-holding state: A title-holding state means that this particular state requires that the lienholder hold the title until the loan is paid off. Most states in the US are title-holding states.

Non-title-holding state: Non-title-holding states will send the vehicle title with the owner’s name and lienholder’s name directly to the vehicle owner to hold until the loan is paid off.

What states are title-holding states?

There are currently 41 title-holding states:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

What states are non-title-holding states?

There are currently 9 non-title-holding states:

  • Arizona
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New York
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin

The Solution for Your Court-Ordered Title

Need a court-ordered title transfer? CourtOrderedTitle.com provides everything you need to file your paperwork and get your court-ordered vehicle title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *